by Jennifer Clark and Mallory Mpare

Heidi Hartmann,IWPR is proud to announce that co-founder and President Heidi Hartmann, Ph.D., has been named a 2014 American Academy of Political and Social Sciences (AAPSS) Fellow. Each year, AAPSS Fellows are elected in recognition of their contributions to improving society through research and public policy.

Reflecting the wide-ranging and interdisciplinary nature of the Academy, this year’s Fellows include economists and psychologists, as well as professionals in communications, education, and public policy. Dr. Hartmann shares this honor with several notable thought leaders, including Senator Elizabeth Warren.

Each Fellowship is named after a distinguished scholar or civic leader who has contributed to The Annals, the bimonthly journal for the Academy’s scholarship. Dr. Hartmann—whose areas of expertise include women and the economy, employment, and pay equity—has been named the 2014 Charlotte Perkins Gilman Fellow. This is an appropriate distinction, as Gilman was a self-taught economist, who wrote a book entitled, Women and Economics: A Study of the Economic Relation Between Men and Women as a Factor in Social Evolution at the turn of the century. She is also known for the popular short story, “The Yellow Wallpaper,” which was a best seller of the Feminist Press. There have been 5 other Charlotte Perkins Gilman fellows, including a winner of the Nobel Prize.

Dr. Heidi Hartmann, a MacArthur fellow, is a leading economist and women’s movement scholar whose work has been translated into more than a dozen languages. In 1987—noting the lack of women-focused, policy-oriented research—she founded IWPR, which is now the leading American think tank informing women’s policy issues. In addition to her recent recognition as an AAPSS Fellow, Dr. Hartmann has received a number of accolades, including honorary degrees from Swarthmore and Claremont Graduate University, the Winn Newman Lifetime Achievement Award for Work on Pay Equity in 2002, and the 2012 Women of Vision Award from the National Organization for Women.

Dr. Hartmann will be inducted as a Fellow on May 8, 2014, in a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

To view more of IWPR’s research, visit